Lambda Literary Awards in NYC

Standard

This is a short post which will explain ONE reason why I haven’t blogged as much as I’ve wanted to in the last few weeks:

*

My partner and I were excited to attend the Lambda Literary Awards last week in NYC. 

*

It was a beautiful ceremony, and I was thankful that my category, LGBT Debut Fiction, was first, so I didn’t have to hold my acceptance speech in clammy hands for too long.  I didn’t win, but I realize the huge honor of being recognized as a “FINALIST” and I was immensely thankful for that.  It felt pretty amazing to sit in a room full of almost 500 people and view my book Makara‘s cover on two HUGE screens.  Especially when this was Lambda’s 25th Award Ceremony!

*

Cherrie Moraga’s speech was honest and terribly enlightening, Master of Ceremonies Kate Clinton was delightfully funny, and Janis Ian’s performance was beautiful (my interpreter did an incredible job with signing her lyrics).  I felt myself almost weeping at times, especially during the slideshow honoring important members of the LGBT and queer community who have passed on.  John Irving was there, and my partner actually got to shake his hand and say a few words to him during the VIP After Party.  The After Party was in the Sky Room of the New Museum, where you can see the whole of New York city around you.  I loved being able to stand on a balcony with so many members of the literary LGBT and queer community.  I feel honored to be part of this eclectic group, and can’t wait to be able to submit more of my work to this foundation.

*

Leave a Reply

